Forum Problems

Forum rules, feedback, speak with game masters, suggestions, etc.

Moderator: Game Masters

Re: Forum Problems

Postby SuperDianWei » 11 May 2010, 20:09

It appears to work now. I checked my settings, and JavaScript was already enabled. It MIGHT be that I chose to select to Allow Scripts to Raise or Lower Windows...but I don't know for sure. Either way its working now, so thanks.

As far as having a close icon on the map itself, I don't think you should waste your time with it. I mean, yeah, the first time it IS confusing, but once you figure out that you just click outside of the Map, then its fine. By no means would a close icon hurt, I just feel like its more trouble than its worth, and you have more valuable things to do with your time.
Moved on to greener pastures.

V5: Ju Si Gai (193)
75*.57*.74*.111*.107*
Acumen, Administration, Arson, Articulate, Artisan, Navy, Networking, Propaganda, Rally, Reversal, Rumor(e), Trap(e), Zeal
The Master of Writing (+75%), The General of the Rising Falcons (+20 Unit Limit, +25 TP), and The Governor of Jiang Xia

<SLM> don't make bets with people like SDW...he knows too much about everything.
User avatar
SuperDianWei
Middle Aged Officer
 
Posts: 1713
Joined: 23 Aug 2004, 00:05
Location: "Ladies, I'm just telling you what you need to hear!"
Kingdom: Oprah's Guest House

Re: Forum Problems

Postby Xian Zhu Xuande » 11 May 2010, 20:34

SuperDianWei wrote:It appears to work now. I checked my settings, and JavaScript was already enabled. It MIGHT be that I chose to select to Allow Scripts to Raise or Lower Windows...but I don't know for sure. Either way its working now, so thanks.

Huh... well, I'm glad it worked. But that shouldn't have done it.
In fact, you probably want to disable that again. I hate it when Javascript hijacks the position of my browser windows, and that's what that setting is all about. I'd be especially curious if that was truly the reason why you were having problems given that this script doesn't actually open any new windows.

SuperDianWei wrote:As far as having a close icon on the map itself, I don't think you should waste your time with it. I mean, yeah, the first time it IS confusing, but once you figure out that you just click outside of the Map, then its fine. By no means would a close icon hurt, I just feel like its more trouble than its worth, and you have more valuable things to do with your time.

Yeah, that's why I'm not stressin' it too much. The map is important enough that people will wonder about it so sooner or later people should figure it out. That said, I do have a close button prepared—it just won't work until everything is hosted here at SimRTK (and that's only annoying because it uses some shared code libraries over at KMA). So if/when I do move it over, the close button will be there.
User avatar
Xian Zhu Xuande
Powder Addict Huo Hu
Powder Addict Huo Hu
 
Posts: 5851
Joined: 23 Mar 2003, 06:18
Location: Please Direct Gameplay Questions to the Game Rules Forum.
Kingdom: Huo Hu

Re: Forum Problems

Postby Zhao Xiao » 11 Aug 2010, 22:49

Not sure if this should go here but, I'm getting Malware alarms on certain threads, like Biographies for example.
V6 Character (based on V5 calc)

Zhao Xiao
60-78-55-48-78
Cunning, Duelist, Leader, Rally, Weaponmaster
User avatar
Zhao Xiao
Officer With Many Posts
 
Posts: 1174
Joined: 18 Jul 2005, 06:24
Location: XBL Gamertag: Aizen Vercors
Kingdom: Seeking XBL buddies

Re: Forum Problems

Postby Strong Bad » 13 Sep 2010, 14:47

I wouldn't go so far as to call this a "problem" as to merely bring this to James' attention since he controls the new interactive map: the link on the main page under the HQ heading "Map" (http://www.simrtk.net/viewtopic.php?p=1151144#p1151144) leads to the outdated, not-updated map in the Map thread. Considering this leads to two conflicting maps that could be brought up from the home page, would it not be better to either remove that HQ link entirely or update it to reflect the new interactive map that's always up-to-date?

-SB
Xiahou Meng will return for V6. Until then...

Pre-game:
Lü You (34)
70-90-62-16-65
Charge, Duelist (e), Trample, Valour, Weaponmaster

2328. Just because damage is non-lethal doesn't mean I can keep beating him for hours.
User avatar
Strong Bad
Have I annoyed her today?
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: 26 Mar 2003, 16:53
Location: Y'know, I don't recall having done anything for a while. But I still feel like I deserve a smoke.

Re: Forum Problems

Postby Xian Zhu Xuande » 13 Sep 2010, 17:41

Zhao Xiao wrote:Not sure if this should go here but, I'm getting Malware alarms on certain threads, like Biographies for example.

What program? What warning? What does it say?
My guess is AVG, whining about some off-site image.
In any case, I'd like very much to look into this.

Strong Bad wrote:I wouldn't go so far as to call this a "problem" as to merely bring this to James' attention since he controls the new interactive map: the link on the main page under the HQ heading "Map" (http://www.simrtk.net/viewtopic.php?p=1151144#p1151144) leads to the outdated, not-updated map in the Map thread. Considering this leads to two conflicting maps that could be brought up from the home page, would it not be better to either remove that HQ link entirely or update it to reflect the new interactive map that's always up-to-date?

I thought about embedding the map there, but it's pretty wide, and it would take some time to give it the ability to render a small-scale version. In any case, I'm happy to help if there's something I can do to help with syncing the two threads.
User avatar
Xian Zhu Xuande
Powder Addict Huo Hu
Powder Addict Huo Hu
 
Posts: 5851
Joined: 23 Mar 2003, 06:18
Location: Please Direct Gameplay Questions to the Game Rules Forum.
Kingdom: Huo Hu

Re: Forum Problems

Postby Elysia » 14 Sep 2010, 16:47

Strong Bad wrote:I wouldn't go so far as to call this a "problem" as to merely bring this to James' attention since he controls the new interactive map: the link on the main page under the HQ heading "Map" (http://www.simrtk.net/viewtopic.php?p=1151144#p1151144) leads to the outdated, not-updated map in the Map thread. Considering this leads to two conflicting maps that could be brought up from the home page, would it not be better to either remove that HQ link entirely or update it to reflect the new interactive map that's always up-to-date?

-SB


I don't see a map link on the main page under the HQ . . . .





hehehe
Zheng Mingyu (18) 87*-102*-65*-73*-92* Ambush; Artisan (e); Breeder (e); Charge; Craftsman (e); Duelist (e); Weaponmaster (e); Zeal

Ping Tai . . . At the mercy of Gu Guang and Lady Shao
Lu Ling Qi . . . Daddy's little girl.
Dame Zhang Yi . . . Sugary sweet.
Liyin & Liyang . . . Doubly Delicious.
Wang Jun . . . Teenager on his own!
Zhang Chunhua . . . Devoted wife of Sima Yi.
<Harimau> Ely, everyone loves you.
User avatar
Elysia
Collecting Souls
Collecting Souls
 
Posts: 23862
Joined: 18 Oct 2003, 15:32
Location: The secret of life is honesty and fair dealing. If you can fake that, you've got it made.
Kingdom: Vagabond

Re: Forum Problems

Postby SuperDianWei » 27 Sep 2010, 06:56

Current problem:

When you (or rather, I) click on the "SimRTK V5" subforum in the "Game Status and Turn Changes" section, instead of taking me to the most recent turn change update, it directs me to the bottom of page 3 (the current most recent post is on page 4). :?
Moved on to greener pastures.

V5: Ju Si Gai (193)
75*.57*.74*.111*.107*
Acumen, Administration, Arson, Articulate, Artisan, Navy, Networking, Propaganda, Rally, Reversal, Rumor(e), Trap(e), Zeal
The Master of Writing (+75%), The General of the Rising Falcons (+20 Unit Limit, +25 TP), and The Governor of Jiang Xia

<SLM> don't make bets with people like SDW...he knows too much about everything.
User avatar
SuperDianWei
Middle Aged Officer
 
Posts: 1713
Joined: 23 Aug 2004, 00:05
Location: "Ladies, I'm just telling you what you need to hear!"
Kingdom: Oprah's Guest House

Re: Forum Problems

Postby caitsith » 30 Oct 2010, 21:03

I had made a post in the kingdom's OOC thread(Pretty Pei Land), which was replied to by the Kingdom ruler, but the reply was posted as an edit onto my post.
Kong Kang, 26 The Governor of Jiang Ling
Rank: Grand Clerk (+65%)
Stats: 46/38/64/100/92
Stats with items: 47*/40*/65*/112*/103*
Skills: Administration(e), Architect, Articulate, Artisan(e), Commercialist ,Propaganda, Zeal

I will not give you special crafted items, unless you are in my kingdom

V4- Tian Min
User avatar
caitsith
Experienced Officer
 
Posts: 247
Joined: 15 Jul 2008, 02:40
Location: Bleh
Kingdom: Miao Li Houa

Re: Forum Problems

Postby JG Chan » 31 Oct 2010, 00:33

caitsith wrote:I had made a post in the kingdom's OOC thread(Pretty Pei Land), which was replied to by the Kingdom ruler, but the reply was posted as an edit onto my post.


Ah...that happens sometimes when someone with moderator status clicks on 'Edit' instead of 'Quote'. :wink: It looks kind of the same, so sometimes we don't notice. I've almost done it once or twice myself. >.>
Qu Shiyin 曲诗音 (28), 书记 (+35%)
60*-49*-91*-96*-110*
Aid (e), Articulate, Artisan (e), Charming, Networking, Propaganda, Rally (e), Rumor, Study, Wealth, Zeal
GM NPCs: Cao Ren 曹仁, Zheng Hun 郑浑, Pang De 庞德, Li Ru 李儒, Huang Yueying 黄月英, Guo Huai 郭淮
User avatar
JG Chan
Doesn't speak English
 
Posts: 4460
Joined: 23 Mar 2005, 21:07
Location: Link overloaded XD
Kingdom: 闞ちゃん!

Re: Forum Problems

Postby JohannXIV » 31 Oct 2010, 12:52

That's what happened. I hit the "Edit" button instead of the "Quote" button. Simple mistake on my part.
v6 Pre-Game
Starring as Gongsun Zan, Han Sui, and Gan Ning
User avatar
JohannXIV
PrettyPei Master
PrettyPei Master
 
Posts: 2185
Joined: 21 Apr 2008, 01:51
Location: Neither Here nor There

Re: Forum Problems

Postby Cao Chun (Shugo) » 27 Dec 2010, 23:16

Cao Chun (Shugo) wrote:IE6 user (yeah I know don't laugh)

I get the same problem that I get on another (now discontinued) rtksim-like site that I shall not name. This error only happens on this board and not anywhere else. Occassionally when I post something, which could be anything, I cannot continue (i.e. get no server response and images will not load) when i click on a link (any link). It is a problem that's becoming rather annoying and it means i have to close any page opened and reopen it (as refreshing doesn't work either). I don't know what is so special about the rtk boards, but my old browser doesn't seem to like it.


I found out what caused the problems. It is a coding error on this site and the other site, apparently you use the same script. So it's not my browser that is causing the problems. There is a javascript error in this board. You can find it on line 879, character 14 of this page viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4718&p=1317436#p1317436 which is causing the problem and on similar lines at other pages. I'm guessing it is a faulty ajax script that is wreaking havoc with my browser. The error report is saying it is expecting an { where there is none. So this is clearly a syntax error in the script. Just letting you know, you might want to check that out and have it fixed.

So I'm sorry to give you it this way, but it's not IE causing the problems, it is this website faulty script.
Cao Shi (28)
75-53-56-83-70
Acumen, Administration (e), Farmer, Propaganda, Rally, Trap, Zeal
Gold: 0
Cao Chun (Shugo)
Ranking Officer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 11 Mar 2010, 23:30

Re: Forum Problems

Postby Cao Chun (Shugo) » 27 Dec 2010, 23:35

Xian Zhu Xuande wrote:
Cao Chun (Shugo) wrote:IE6 user (yeah I know don't laugh)

I get the same problem that I get on another (now discontinued) rtksim-like site that I shall not name. This error only happens on this board and not anywhere else. Occassionally when I post something, which could be anything, I cannot continue (i.e. get no server response and images will not load) when i click on a link (any link). It is a problem that's becoming rather annoying and it means i have to close any page opened and reopen it (as refreshing doesn't work either). I don't know what is so special about the rtk boards, but my old browser doesn't seem to like it.

If that happens you can try reloading the page. It should send the post data again, and if it goes through you might have a double-post, so please check. I'm not sure if Internet Explorer 6 supports caching of form data. If it does, you could click back to re-load the form and all its data, and try again.

Unless an issue is widespread I'm not supporting IE6 beyond basic site features, and this is the first I've heard of this one across the two sites that share this general theme/features. Please upgrade to a real browser. If you must, a newer version of Internet Explorer, or better yet, Chrome, Safari, Firefox...

SuperDianWei wrote:The "Map" link at the top of the forum seems to be broken. Rather than take me to the actual map thread, it is set to link to http://kongming.net/conqueror/simrtk/ , which essentially just refreshes whatever page I am on. =/

What browser are you using? Version number?


reloading the page won't solve it, it is also causing problems in some versions of IE8
(newer browser). It auto resets the page to the top when you type in textbox while editing a post. I'm fairly certain this is caused by the same syntax error in your script.

I warn you that if this is not fixed it will cause more problems for you in the future, as microsoft seems to hint that future IE versions will have the same software technology as the IE8 version i'm currently using. Therefore I predict 30% of future internet users will have a problem with this site unless it is fixed. That may not sound like a lot, but it is.
Cao Shi (28)
75-53-56-83-70
Acumen, Administration (e), Farmer, Propaganda, Rally, Trap, Zeal
Gold: 0
Cao Chun (Shugo)
Ranking Officer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 11 Mar 2010, 23:30

Re: Forum Problems

Postby Cao Chun (Shugo) » 27 Dec 2010, 23:43

btw I also suspect this syntax error is what is causing the problem others reported about the map issues.
Cao Shi (28)
75-53-56-83-70
Acumen, Administration (e), Farmer, Propaganda, Rally, Trap, Zeal
Gold: 0
Cao Chun (Shugo)
Ranking Officer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 11 Mar 2010, 23:30

Re: Forum Problems

Postby Xu Yuan » 07 Mar 2011, 17:35

A rather minor trouble and I guess this is the first time the fort name had been brought up in RP the entire game for this to slip by.

When you try to type out the fort below He Fei "s***" also known as "Shi Ting" in the two character, two word format, the censors react. This would be as expected if it didn't show up the same way on the map itself. Though I think the majority of our players are mature and know how this is actually pronounced and wouldn't need a censor bar for the name of that one fort.
Pre-Game

Cai Bin 蔡臏
Rank: Senior Political Advisor (Civil Rank 1)
5-10-63-95-85 (68)
Articulate. Negotiator(e), Propaganda, Networking, Rumor, Wealth, Riot
Gold: 559
(V5) Mi Zun
User avatar
Xu Yuan
Cao Cao’s Duck Hat
 
Posts: 2801
Joined: 27 Jul 2005, 13:33
Location: Wan
Kingdom: Han

Re: Forum Problems

Postby Aureal » 07 Mar 2011, 17:43

You just typed it out in two words and it came out just fine. Do that. We're not going to remove the censor on a common swear word because it happens to be contained inside the name of a rather insignificant location.
Zan Zhikun (38) 108*-85*-102*-48-70* Breeder(e); Jeer; Logistics; Military Engineer; Navy; Reversal; Rumor; Scout; Siegecraft(e); Spy; Terrain; Trap; Wall
Also playing: Kan Ze, Ma Zhong, Sima Shi, and maybe other people you don't know. :P
User avatar
Aureal
President: Chen Gong Fanclub
President: Chen Gong Fanclub
 
Posts: 8478
Joined: 04 Jun 2005, 05:06
Location: This location intentionally left blank.
Kingdom: Chen Gong

PreviousNext

Return to Hall of Supremacy

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Copyright © 1998–2016 SimRTK Project Team. All Rights Reserved